A new love has been forged.

Remember when I said I was waiting to get an iPhone 4S? Well I did in fact get it. And damn, this is the most amazing phone ever. Obviously beets the crap out of Blackberry, which if they focused more on making a good phone than half-assed copying other technologies, they might be in better shape. I’ve never used the Droid or Android phones, so I can’t say much about them. But I will say the bulk doesn’t appeal to me. I love Apple products, and that’s just me.

But on to the purpose here. The iPhone has an 8MP camera included, which is amazing for a phone. I only shoot with a 10MP Canon Powershot the rest of the time, so you can imagine that the convenience of the iPhone is comparable to a point and shoot camera. The most amazing part of it is the Apps! Oh the Apps, that turn ordinary pictures into amazing detailed and edited shots. I’m completely addicted to Instagram, because what is more amazing than just the sharing of mobile pictures. A quick look into other parts of the world, other people’s lives, the magic of what the Earth and it’s mostly good inhabitants have to offer. I’ve been into just uploading pictures with quick captions as statuses for quite some time now; I prefer the visual capturing of moments rather than just typing a few sentences to describe how my day is or how I feel. Peg me as an artsy fartsy kid, it’s ok. So with this new addiction to Instagram, I am introduced to whole new world of photography: street photography, but with a twist. iPhoneography as some #hashtags call it. Photos taken with a phone, edited with a phone, and uploaded with a phone. It’s amazing. For as long as I have been able to take camera phone shots, I have secretly considered the practice to be an art in and of itself. What is more artistic than our daily lives recorded, ready to share with the world? Now I am not alone in this belief.

So here I share an interview between two great Instagram(ers)/iPhoneographers. Marco (@magicmarco on IG) interviews @brooklyntheory.

Check it out here.

My favorite part?

M: If you were elected the Amabassador of mobile photography, what would you want the rest of the world to know? Remember, you’re speaking for us. What would you want the people who are not mobile photographers to know?

B: It’s legit. Even if the images come from amateur photographers using mobile phones doesn’t mean they don’t have something to say. It’s an art. It’s legitimate as any other art form and they have something to say so they’re saying it. It doesn’t matter what the medium is. It’s art.

Couldn’t have said it better. Also loved reading about more Apps that I need to try out, like Filterstorm.

Well I have tons to do, school technically started this week and I need to get back into the game. After my last final, I completely checked out academically and was stuck in the real world of working my ass off to afford Christmas (I really wanted to cancel it) and pay the bills. So now I must get out of work/slave/drone mode and back into student about to graduate and make the world a better place through art mode. I’ll just leave you with a few of my favorite iPhone shots I’ve taken lately.

Made cream of chicken and zucchini soup. And did this fabulous edit on my iphone.

Fall trees in Tempe. Edited with iPhone.

My little punkin

Just me

Leave a Reply

